From The Ergoweb® Learning Center

Deadline Nearing: Submissions for 2012 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award

[Editor's Note: Please pass this on to all the eligible students and professors you know — thanks!]

The Foundation for Professional Ergonomics (FPE) initiated the Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award in 2010. The award, named in memory of Dieter W. Jahns, a life-long advocate of the practice of Ergonomics and a leader in Ergonomics Certification, is an annual award and is given to the student (or group of students) for an Ergonomics project that demonstrates the major practice areas of Ergonomics:  Analysis, Design, and Evaluation. 

See these Ergonomics Today™ articles for reviews of previous winners and their projects:

The purpose of the award is to advance professionalism in Ergonomics by recognizing educational activities that demonstrate how professional ergonomists serve to make our lives at work and at home healthier, safer, more productive, and more satisfying.  This award is open, world wide, to students (M.S. or Ph.D.) in Ergonomics and Ergonomics-related programs. Students who have completed their graduate degrees in the past year are also eligible. 

Submission deadline is May 31, 2012, with notification on July 31, 2012, and the award presentation on October 23, 2012.  The Award and cash prize of $500 (US) will be presented at the Student Reception during the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Annual Meeting, October 22 – 26, 2012, in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. The winner does not have to travel to Boston to accept the award.

Submissions can be made individually or as a group. They should provide adequate descriptions, illustrations or photos, and details that address the judging criteria. Go to for complete details on submission criteria and format.