Ergo-Rest use and upper arm pain ?

Home Forums Products & Equipment Ergo-Rest use and upper arm pain ?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Daniel.Gottesman 2 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Daniel.Gottesman
    Participant

I have been using Ergo-Rest arm supports for several months. I got them to test before offering to employees on my site. I immediately liked them, as they take the weight of my arms and thus reduce stress in my upper back, and facilitate straight wrist posture.

But …. might there be a cost?

1) I have experienced some local discomfort in my forearms in the weigh bearing areas, and it seemed to me that it went away after not using the Ergo-Rests.

2) I experienced a sharp pain in my upper arm RIGHT (possibly triceps area) on reaching back to get a map or something in the back seat while in my car. This awkward reach, which I do know is bad, but not uncommon, caused extreme pain and now I find my right arm very sensitive to aggravation of the injury ….. AND interestingly my LEFT arm has a mild discomfort in the same area. Either arm can now easily be tweeked into a sharp pain (playing volleyball, lifting my small child in a slightly awkward way, or doing any number of actions with an elevated or outstretched arm…..) and the pain dissipates in several seconds and after several minutes I am back to the pre-tweek state.

I did not associate the pain with the Ergo-Rests until I spoke to a friend last weekend who described a very similar pain that her DO (Osteopath) related to her habit of resting her weight on her elbows while eating and doing other activities….. not unlike my resting on the ergo-rests. I am wondering if I am causing a significant weakening of my triceps or some other problem with my Ergo-Rest use

melody.rudolph
    Participant